DJI Power 500: what it runs and for how long

The DJI Power 500 is a 512 Wh LiFePO4 portable power station with a 1,000 W inverter. It meets our requirements for camping, carrying a CPAP on trips (light enough to pack) and UPS use with computers and routers, plus 1 more use.
What can the DJI Power 500 run, and for how long?
Combine loads in the DJI Power 500 runtime calculatorOn a full charge it runs a 12V compressor fridge for about 41 h and a CPAP machine for about 7.8 h.
What can’t the DJI Power 500 run?
The DJI Power 500 can't run a refrigerator or a chest freezer (start-up ~2,200 W, limit 1,000 W); a space heater or an electric kettle (needs 1,500 W, inverter is 1,000 W); a window air conditioner (start-up ~2,800 W, limit 1,000 W).
Who is the DJI Power 500 a good fit for?
The DJI Power 500 meets every requirement for 4 of the 12 uses we filter for.
- ✓Camping
- ✓Carrying a CPAP on trips (light enough to pack)
- ✓UPS use with computers and routers
- ✓A LiFePO4 station under $500
- ?Fast solar charging · can’t be checked: DJI Power doesn’t publish the solar input figure
- ?Balcony solar and apartments · can’t be checked: DJI Power doesn’t publish the solar input figure
- ?Starting a 120 V well or sump pump · can’t be checked: DJI Power doesn’t publish the surge figure
Can the DJI Power 500 work as a UPS?
DJI Power lists a switchover time of 20 ms for the DJI Power 500, inside the 20 ms gap that the ITI (CBEMA) reference says typical computer equipment should ride through.
How fast does the DJI Power 500 recharge?
From a wall outlet it recharges in about 70 minutes in its fastest mode, per DJI Power.
What are the DJI Power 500's full specifications?
These figures come from DJI Power's official US page, checked 2026-10-12. "Not published" marks specs DJI Power doesn't publish.
| Capacity | 512 Wh |
|---|---|
| Battery chemistry | LiFePO4 |
| Rated cycles | 4,000 Over 70% capacity after 4,000 cycles. |
| AC output (continuous) | 1,000 W |
| AC surge | Not published |
| AC outlets | 2 |
| Max USB-C output | 100 W |
| Max solar input | Not published Solar needs an optional MPPT adapter; maximum wattage is not stated. |
| Max AC charging input | 540 W 540 W AC charging requires battery at 60% or more and a 20-35 C temperature. |
| AC charge time (fastest mode) | 70 min DJI's FAQ gives roughly 70 minutes for 0-100%. |
| Expandable | Not published DJI does not state whether it is expandable. |
| Max with extra batteries | Not published |
| UPS switchover | 20 ms |
| Weight | 16.1 lb |
| Dimensions | 12.0 × 8.1 × 7.0 in |
| List price | $499 |
How does the DJI Power 500 rank against other 500–999 Wh power stations?
Among the 6 current 500–999 Wh models, the DJI Power 500 is in the top third for rated cycles and weight and in the bottom third for capacity and AC charging speed.
| Spec | DJI Power 500 | Rank in band | vs band median | vs band leader |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Capacity | 512 Wh | 5th of 6 | -29% | -49% vs Goal Zero Yeti 1000 |
| AC output | 1,000 W | 3rd of 6 | +11% | -50% vs Goal Zero Yeti 1000 |
| Surge | Not published | — | — | — |
| Solar input | Not published | — | — | — |
| AC charging | 540 W | 5th of 6 | -32% | -61% vs BLUETTI Pioneer Na |
| Rated cycles | 4,000 | 1st of 6 | level | leads the band |
| Weight | 16.1 lb | 2nd of 6 | -16% | +20% vs EcoFlow RIVER 2 Max |
| UPS switchover | 20 ms | 2nd of 5 | level | +33% vs Goal Zero Yeti 1000 |
| Wh per list $ | 1.03 | 3rd of 6 | +1% | -40% vs EcoFlow RIVER 2 Max |
Who should not buy the DJI Power 500?
Skip the DJI Power 500 if any of these describe you; each comes from its published specs.
- You need solar charging. DJI Power doesn't publish a solar input limit for the DJI Power 500, so we can't confirm how fast panels refill it.
- You may want more battery later. The DJI Power 500 isn't listed as expandable. The EcoFlow RIVER 3 Plus (286 Wh) accepts extra batteries.
- You plan to start motors. With no published surge rating, we count only loads that fit its 1,000 W continuous rating.
- You want to run a kettle, microwave or space heater. Its 1,000 W inverter is below the 1,000 W or more our cited figures give for each of them. The BLUETTI Pioneer Na delivers 1,500 W.
How long does the DJI Power 500 last at different loads?
About 435 Wh reaches the AC outlets, so a steady 100 W load runs for about 4.4 h and a load at its full 1,000 W rating for about 26 minutes.
| Steady AC load | Runtime from full |
|---|---|
| 25 W | 17 h |
| 50 W | 8.7 h |
| 100 W | 4.4 h |
| 200 W | 2.2 h |
| 300 W | 1.5 h |
| 500 W | 52 min |
| 750 W | 35 min |
| 1,000 W | 26 min |
What does the DJI Power 500 cost per kWh over its rated life?
About $0.24 per kWh of storage at list price, if you use all 4,000 rated cycles. The median for 500–999 Wh models is $0.25 per kWh, so the DJI Power 500 is cheaper over its rated life.
Rated life energy = 512 Wh × 4,000 cycles ≈ 2,048 kWh. List price $499 ÷ 2,048 kWh ≈ $0.24.
What can the DJI Power 500 run at the same time?
The DJI Power 500 can carry 2 of the 10 common pairs we check at once, with the runtimes below. It can't carry refrigerator + wi-Fi router / modem, refrigerator + chest freezer, refrigerator + microwave oven, refrigerator + electric kettle, window air conditioner + refrigerator, sump pump + refrigerator, space heater + wi-Fi router / modem and microwave oven + electric kettle: together they pass its running or start-up limit.
| Together | Runtime from full |
|---|---|
| CPAP with heated humidifier + wi-Fi router / modem | 5.7 h |
| TV + wi-Fi router / modem | 3.1 h |
Which DJI Power 500 specs are unpublished or conditional?
DJI Power doesn't publish these specs for the DJI Power 500: surge and solar input.
5 published figures come with conditions, shown under the spec table: AC charge time, AC charging, expandability, rated cycles and solar input.
How does the DJI Power 500 compare with similar power stations?
By capacity, the nearest models from other brands are EcoFlow RIVER 2 Max and Goal Zero Yeti 500.
Which models from other brands are closest in size?
How this page was made. Specs come from each manufacturer's official US spec page or manual, checked on the date shown; specs a manufacturer doesn't publish are marked "Not published". Runtimes are calculated (capacity × 85% inverter efficiency ÷ appliance draw), not measured. We haven't hands-on tested these units. Method and sources · Affiliate disclosure

